Happy New Music Year

Hope you are having a great start to the New Year.

I have decided not to overdo the resolutions this time around. Maybe not look too far ahead. A wise man I met last year told me that we should be forgiving to ourselves (thanks Geoffrey J) so I’ll think I’ll make that number one for 2013. Followed by more CDs, more gigs and learn how to play the resonator guitar without causing the pets at home to start wailing.

Anyhow, first gig tonight – The First Aid Kit.

I’m starting the new year with the following playlist:

  • Iris Dement – Sing The Delta
  • Various – Transatlantic Sessions 4 Volume 3
  • JD McPherson – Signs and Signifiers
  • Dennis Wilson – Pacific Ocean Blue
  • Neil Young – Psychedelic Pill
  • Various – That’s Proper Folk!!
  • The Black Lillies – 100 Miles Of Wreckage
  • Various – This One’s For Him: A Tribute To Guy Clark

Damn good company.

Enjoy the year.

Please feel free to leave a comment.

If you would like to get automatic email updates, just click follow at the top of this page.

7 thoughts on “Happy New Music Year

    • Great concert Graham. Sell out crowd. Nice support act Fraser A Gorman. First Aid Kit were in fine form. “The Lion’s Roar” “Emmylou” and “America” were the standouts for me. They brought their own drummer and had two local players on stage.
      Re Iris, I need to do some research – only know of her through The Transatlantic Sessions and the new album. Any recommendations on checking her other CDs?

      Reply
  1. Hmmm, sounds like I missed yet another great gig :-((

    I was first introduced to Iris Dement by her comeback album in 2004 “Lifeline” – a great album of mostly covers of old gospel songs, but done as only Iris could do them – so I reccomend that one. Also the song “Our Town” from her 1993 album “Infamous Angel” which they played on the final episode of the TV series Northern Exposure – really is a great and moving track worth seeking out !

    Reply
  2. Ah…I see that Our Town is on the Atlantic Sessions CD, so try her 1994 album “My Life” with standout track “Easy’s Gettin’ Harder Every Day”

    Reply

Leave a comment